AC Drive China Forum
Forum » General Discussion » Looking for HW design guidelines for meeting EMC with a 15A drive
Topics: Looking for HW design guidelines for meeting EMC with a 15A drive on General Discussion
Start by
Rudi Koskamp
09-23-2013 08:27 PM

Looking for HW design guidelines for meeting EMC with a 15A drive

Dear all, as a HW designer I am familiar with small DC drives design. Latest project involves a 15A drive at 36V, both DC and BLDC. Can you guys advise me some good book or other source with guidelines for meeting medical level EMC regulations? Thanks in advance!
09-23-2013 10:56 PM
Top #2
Ronald Gunnels
09-23-2013 10:56 PM
If you are using in the US then you need to meet the FCC spec, and that is basically shelding the controller and the wires. If you are going to Europe then IEC68000 is a good place to start.
09-24-2013 01:54 AM
Top #3
Rudi Koskamp
09-24-2013 01:54 AM
Thank you for your reply. Markets will be Europe and US both. Finding the levels will not be the issue, but how to reach them. Shielding is a good start, but not needing it would be nicer. What filtering options to think about, groundplane usage, while PWM driven, what SW actions to think about. More hints are still welcome!
09-24-2013 03:58 AM
Top #4
Bill Kazlauskas
09-24-2013 03:58 AM
There is the filter and then there are other things. Yes, ground plane but bonding is important things like this:
- Shielded motor cable - preferable 360 bond at both ends.
- A separate return wire for the motor frame to the drive frame.
- X Caps on the DC bus to the frame
Most EMI problems that you will have will be the clock and the PWM harmonics. The clock is straight forward. Watch out for any wires inside the enclosure - they will pick up the high frequency. Lastly, what do you enclose the drive in? I have had to use 3% stainless fill plastics. Edges where metal connects to metal must be conductive and there must be connections close together.